Harrow Council Logo

Early Years Logo

Early Implementers and Innovators

The government selected 8 early implementer local authorities who have provided the entitlement since September 2016 these are: Wigan, Staffordshire, Swindon, Portsmouth, Northumberland, York, Newham and Hertfordshire.

Early innovators in each local cluster will work together to focus on special educational needs and disability, flexibility, availability of places, and making work pay.  The 25 early innovators are:

  • North West: Stockport, Bolton, Trafford, Cheshire West and Chester, Bury
  • Midlands: Nottinghamshire, Nottingham City, Walsall
  • South West: Cornwall
  • South East: Hampshire, West Sussex, Medway, East Sussex, Brighton and Hove
  • London and East of England: Kingston and Richmond, Barking and Dagenham, Islington, Ealing, Hillingdon
  • North East and Yorkshire and the Humber: Gateshead, Bradford, Sheffield, Eastriding, Wakefield, North Yorkshire

 Source: Thousands of parents benefit from 30 hours' free childcare early

The links below are provided to assist Harrow schools, PVIs and childminders for information and planning purposes.  The information provided is specific to the local authority or cluster group and therefore should be reviewed as such.  Please ensure that as you view these pages you tailor them to your setting, locality, demographic and specific needs.

Northumberland - 30 hour trial Podcast (73 minutes) - includes childminder, nursery, school, early years advisor and sustainability officer

West Sussex - Childcare Business Toolkit

Kingston and Richmond - Case Study

Hampshire - Forecaster and tools


Provide feedback

Is this information accurate and up-to-date?

Click here to let us know